How to: Party dresses after the party

Happy New Year!

Party season is officially over, back to work for most of us, school/uni for others, end of the day – it’s back to business! That doesn’t mean to store all your party dresses away however, it may be January, it may be cold but that shouldn’t stop the fun. January is seriously one of the dullest months ever (no offence to January babies) but really, most people are either too broke or too worn out to do anything or even just annoyed at the thought of valentines days closing in and being bombarded with ads. Even the weather gives up in January which causes a lot of people to feel even more depressed.

For me, the idea of only wearing a dress once annoys me, hence why I try not to buy too many of them, there’s only so many ways you can style a dress before you start looking homeless. But like some of you I do have party dresses hanging in my wardrobe with nowhere to wear them to so I thought why not dress them down for day wear?

After buying it for that one occasion, be it a wedding, someone’s birthday, work Christmas party or NYE, it just sits there waiting to be touched again and I know nobody plans on wearing the same dress they wore last year at this years end of year parties. No.

So why not get your moneys worth from that beautiful dress and wear it casual.

LOOK1 The missguided dressmissguided front missguided backI got this dress for my 21st birthday – I had a lot of dresses for that birthday to be honest but I haven’t worn it ever since. I just don’t know where to wear it to! Now for the dress down look, when in doubt, add denim.

ADD DENIM

casual denimSo something went wrong with my picture and half of it is missing but I think I saved what I was able to of it. Anyway, by adding a denim shirt to the dress and some chunky shoes, you can achieve a casual look.

20150104_172636

denimDress: Missguided// Shirt: UO// Shoes: Primark// Jacket: Pull & Bear

LOOK2 The Goth dress

mesh maxi dress

This dress is from Miss Selfridge, about a year and half old. I remember it was on sale for £15! To dress it down, add a pair of trainers.

ADD TRAINERS

bomber jacket poloneckJacket & Top: thrifted// Trainers: New Balance (ASOS)

LOOK3 The sparkles

lurex

This lurex dress was from Internationale for only £7, I’ve actually tied the dress up and sewn it, originally it has a slit in the back and way longer than this. I have done a post on it a while back, click here to see. It’s hard to dress down a dress such as this one but one of the best ways to look chic this winter is a cool black jumper.

ADD A JUMPERdress to skirt midi dress

Dress: internationale // jumper: primark// boots: new look

And that’s it! Let me know how you wear your party dresses for day wear below.

 

 

Over to you! What do you think?

