Birthday outfit post: Virgos Lounge Orla dress

Hello again!

So I mentioned in my previous post that I was going to write about my birthday outfits and here it is. So firstly, let me mention that my birthday was 2 weeks ago (23rd November) it was on a Saturday so I decided to do a whole weekend celebration.

On the Friday before, I went out with a couple of friends, on Saturday we enjoyed spa treatments and dinner at Selsdon Park Hotel, and on Sunday, I went out for dinner with my family.

As we were supposed to watch a burlesque show on Friday night, I decided to wear something glamorous and sparkly so I visited Virgos Lounges’ website as they are known for sequins and a few celebrities have sported some pretty items from there. After drooling over almost every dress on there (which I couldn’t afford) I finally settled for the Orla dress:

Orla dress AKA my b-day dress

Orla dress AKA my b-day dress

angela simmons in virgos lounge embellished top and skirt

angela simmons in virgos lounge embellished top and skirt

lala anthony in virgos lounge aggy jacket

lala anthony in virgos lounge aggy jacket

This dress costs £89 so it’s not crazily expensive and I love the colours. When the dress arrived, my love for it went out the window – it looked the same, I just wasn’t as into it  as I was online, I tried it on and it was fine, WAY HEAVIER THAN EXPECTED because of all the sequins but I decided to keep it anyway. The day before my birthday I started preparing my things and as I lifted the dress, the name tag on the back fell off, I was a bit confused but it didn’t matter because I didn’t need it. Then when I put the dress on, one of the straps popped and I was totally baffled! I just paid over £90 (including delivery) for a dress that pops within two days of receiving it. Isn’t life just lovely?

ripped strap

With my event the next day, I couldn’t return the dress or order a new one that would arrive on time so I pinned it to hold in place. On the night I was going out, I got all dolled up ready to go and guess what happens… the second strap goes pop! OK, whose idea was it to put thin light fabric straps on such a heavy dress? I don’t study design but I see a flaw.

I had no choice but to pin both straps down and carry on with my night which went well. Here are some pictures from the night:

DSC_0084 DSC_0088 DSC_0094 DSC_0087 DSC_0097 DSC_0134 DSC_0135 DSC_0140

Dress: Virgos Lounge // Sandals: New Look// Fur jacket : Fashion Union// Headpiece (bracelet\ring cut and clipped): Fashion Union// Clutch: Primark

selsdon park hotel birthday

SEE YA IN MY NEXT POST-A!

(really needed it to rhyme lol)

One thought on “Birthday outfit post: Virgos Lounge Orla dress

  1. Pingback: Outfit Post: 2014 | Fifi's Style Corner

Over to you! What do you think?

